Topless Container

Which emotion(s) — joy, envy, rage, pity, or something else — do you find to be the hardest to contain?

Emotions have a funny way of making us react to situations based off of our first instinct. Some of us choose to let that first instinct take control because it seems normal. Some of us choose to keep them all bottled up inside scared to let the world see how we react to life. I have had the fortunate opportunity to experience both sides of reacting to my emotions. In my experience fear would take the lead in having the greatest power over me. I have let fear take over for a little allowing it to cloud my thoughts and judgement. Shoot I have fear right now wondering how people would react to my blog. Two months ago I would have never wrote a blog, let alone talk about myself and my problems. See I am more of a people pleaser. I gain joy through seeing other people smile. I may have lost that when I stop taking care of myself.  But just like the first step in anything we do, we must first be able to recognize what we are doing. To step back and identify our emotions may make our problems a little bigger. Sometimes to solve a problem you have to make it larger so you can divide it up into smaller attainable steps to not overwhelm yourself. My biggest problem with fear stopped me from showing people for who I really am. Now that I recognize it though, I can take off the top of my container and let it fill with things that I have a bit of control over.

“Only Thing We Have to Fear Is Fear Itself”- Franklin D. Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

