Step By Step…

Five months since my last post, right on the dot. I guess I should give an update as to whats been going on. I am currently taking classes at Schoolcraft College. I always seem to forget that it is not a University, but who really cares. I am switching my major after four years at MSU. I learned that Engineering was not that path for me, So I have embarked on new adventures. I am taking a philosophy class, a social psych class, and an online health class. I am taking those in hopes of getting back into MSU for the coming Winter semester. My major has changed to psychology though I am interested in pre-law. I have enjoyed my time at Schoolcraft and have immersed myself in the culture. I have auditioned for a play, joined the chess club, made some new friends, joined the wallyball club, and joined the fitness center at Schoolcraft. The whole experience has been quite eye opening for me. I have done a lot of activities for the first time like auditioning for the school play.. I just did it on a whim with my bud and a girl I met during the second day of class. I don’t consider myself an actor and I had to go in the first pairing for the audition. As nervous as I got, I just kept telling myself that I am not going to let this opportunity pass me by. The audition lasted for five minutes and I didn’t think I stood a chance in hell of getting called back. I didn’t even bother looking at the call back sheet because who in their right mind would want a guy with no experience for a three person script. A couple weeks passed by and I ran into the kid I auditioned with and he told me that I was on the call back sheet. Hearing that gave me a wave of emotions, like are you sure, no way, you are just yanking my chain, and then fuck why didn’t I look at the call back sheet. I have come to realize I am creating those small moments of brave where I let go and be myself. Then I get all content with myself again, reflecting on the good that I did in the past thinking that it is good enough. I keep going one step forward two steps back. As weird as it sounds I am so happy that I ended up at Schoolcraft. They provide the type of atmosphere where it’s normal to screw up. Schoolcraft has a vast range of people wether white, black, asian, ginger, older, younger, parent, ex military, inspiring actors ect. I say this because everyone there is an ocelot whether we like it or not. We are all just trying to find our own path on how to let go. What I am trying to get at is that one action or outcome doesn’t define you. We all have moments of greatness and moments of weakness. I have had my fair share of both. The greatest thing we can do is to own the moment to the best of our abilities at the time. If we achieve great, if we fail so what. All that matters is that we had the courage to take that step. I’ll finish today with this quote because it speaks volumes to how we humans persevere.

What saves a man is to take a step. Then another step. It is always the same step, but you have to take it. –

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry